Showing posts with label Humor. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Humor. Show all posts

Wednesday, December 27, 2006

Famous Amos

I stole the content of this post from another blog relating to an email that she had received from a friend of another friend about her encounter at a Famous Amos outlet somewhere in Bangsar, KL.

Anyways, this is the content of the email:

"This is a true story My daughter and I had just finished a muffin at Famous Amos Café in Bangsar & decided to have some cookies. Because both of us are such cookie lovers, we decided to try the "Hawaiian Nut Cookie".

It was so excellent that I asked if they would give me the recipe and the waitress said with a small frown "I'm afraid cannot". Well I said, "Would you let me buy the recipe?"With a cute smile, she said "YES". I asked how much and she responded, "only two fifty, it's a great deal!" I said with approval, "Just add it to my bill"

Thirty days later, I received my VISA statement from Famous Amos and it was RM285.00. I looked again and remembered I had only spent RM9.95 for two muffins and about RM20.00 for a pie. As I glanced at the bottom of the statement, it said, "cookie recipe - RM250.00".

That's outrageous!!!

I called the Famous Amos's Accounting Dept. and told them that the waitress said it was "two-fifty", which clearly does not mean "two hundred and fifty dollars" by any POSSIBLE interpretation of the phrase. Famous Amos refused to budge.. They would not refund my money, because according to them, "What the waitress told you is not our problem. You have already seen the recipe - we absolutely will not refund your money at this point."

I explain to her the criminal statues which govern fraud in Malaysia. I threatened to refer them to police for engaging in fraud. I was basically told, "Do what you want, we don't care, and we're not refunding your money."

I waited for a moment, thinking of how I could get even, or even try to get any of my money back. I just said, "Okay, you people got my RM2-50.00 , and now I'm going to have aRM250.00 worth of fun."

I told her that I was going to see to it that every cookie lover in Malaysia with an email account has a RM250.00 cookie recipe from Famous Amos...for free... She replied, "I wish you wouldn't do this"

I said, "Well you should have thought of that before you stole from me", and slammed down the phone on her.So, here it is!!!

Please, please please pass it on to everyone you can possibly think of. I paid RM250.00 dollars for this...I don't want Famous Amos to ever get another cent off of this recipe.....

Recipe may be halved:

2 cups butter
4 cups flour
2 tsp. baking soda
2 cups granulated sugar
2 cups brown sugar
5 cups blended oatmeal (measure oatmeal & blend in blender to a fine powder)
24 oz. chocolate chips
1 tsp. salt
18 oz. Cadbury bar (grated)
4 eggs
2 tsp. baking powder
3 cups chopped nuts (your choice)
2 tsp. vanillacream the butter and both sugars.

Add eggs and vanilla; mix together with flour, oatmeal, salt, baking powder, and soda. Add chocolate chips, Cadbury bar and nuts. Roll into balls and place two inches apart on a cookie sheet.. bake for 10 minutes at 375 degrees. Makes 122 cookies. "




Does anybody want to make the recipe and give me some? =)

Thursday, November 09, 2006

Wow! Free Food!

I really should go on hiatus more often as I returned to my blog this morning to find lots of cheese littered around. Yum! ;D Anyway, it was good to take a short break from penning my thoughts here and just focus on my day to day mundane activities of sleeping, studying and working. *sigh*


--@--

My dad has officially implemented a new policy in our household where all working parties must contribute towards major expenses such as the replacement of our 8 year old dishwasher recently. Coupled together with some of the insurance back payments that I owe my dad resulting in the following conversation this morning...


At least I know where I get my lame sense of humour from :P

Friday, October 13, 2006

Really???

You Are 72% Gentleman

You are definitely a gentleman. You're very considerate and you have excellent manners.
Occasionally, you slip and do something foolish... but usually no one notices!

Wednesday, September 27, 2006

My 5AM Breakfast...

Its that time of the year again where I wake up at wee hours of the morning to attempt to put chapters and chapters of boring facts and figures into my brain where I hope it will stay until the moment I have to regurgitate it out in a high-pressure environment with lots of evil menacing people walking around trying to catch those who are up to no good. *Phew*

A chunk of blue cheese on crackers together with some sweet delicious grapes

Not forgetting the appetizer and dessert ;D

Thursday, September 07, 2006

Monday, August 21, 2006

TITG ROTFL...




OMG! This video is uber funny!!!

*Warning: Only for mature audiences. No offense intended =)

Friday, August 11, 2006

Saya Anak Malaysia!!!

Gee, wonder why I've been so interested in these type of quizes lately =)


Check how Malaysian YOU are here....

Friday, August 04, 2006

Something Along A Lighter Vein...





You Are a Pundit Blogger!



Your blog is smart, insightful, and always a quality read.
Truly appreciated by many, surpassed by only a few
.

Tuesday, May 16, 2006

~TITG~ Saves RM1!!!

I recently noticed that there is big flaw in the SmartTag tollgates along the Lebuhraya Damansara Puchong (LDP). This loophole actually allows anyone to skimp on paying the RM1 thus allowing yourself to indulge in an extra teh tarik or teh ais courtesy of SPRINT Sdn Bhd.

So, here's for all you cheapos out there who are interested to save RM1:-

1) Drive slowly towards any SmartTag tollgate along the LDP. Chances are another Malaysian driver will get pissed off at you and start tail-gating.

2) If you do possess a SmartTag, hide it in your glove compartment or under your seat so that the SmartTag sensor will be unable to read it.

3) There is a gap between the sensor area and the tollgate barrier. You will want to drive past the sensor area and come to a complete stop just before the tollgate barrier.

4) The idea is to use the tail-gating car's SmartTag to trigger the tollgate barrier. When you see the barrier going up, immediately speed off with a smirk on your face.

5) As for the tail-gating car, if the tail-gating driver is quick enough, driving through before the barrier comes down again will not be problem.

6) However, if not, never fear as the tail-gating driver will not be charged twice as a complaint to the tollgate attendants will raise the barrier again for the driver to pass through.

The only ones hurt in this escapade would be the loss of revenue by SPRINT, the delay caused to the tail-gating driver and of course the massive traffic backlog incurred at the SmartTag tollgate.



PS: Picture is stolen of the Internet. Credit to whoever watermarked the photo :)

PPS: The author assumes no responsibility on whatever actions were inspired by reading this blog entry.
 Posted by Picasa

Friday, April 21, 2006

My Daily Laughter Fix ...

Due to rather long 45 minute commute to work everyday, I normally resort to the radio to alleviate my boredom. Inthe morning, I try never to miss my daily fix of Hitz.FM Morning Crew Gotcha. For those of you poor sods who have never got a chance to catch their show, the Hitz.FM Gotcha is about making prank calls to unsuspecting victims trying to terrorize them before finally revealing its all a big fat prank. =) Rather entertaining although you must be able to understand lame humour to appreciate it fully.

This morning's antics include fooling a young girl that was previously involved in a traffic accident telling her there were some problems with the insurance documentation and that she would need to come down to the police station. It sounded like the girl was on the verge of tears up when put up against a bully of a policeman and the owner of the other car involved in the accident both impersonated by the Hitz.FM morning crew.

When they finally revealed to her that it was a prank set up by one of her friends, I could actually hear the relief in her voice which she expressed rather openly if you know what i mean ;) Well, I guess I'm not ashamed to laugh at her misery as its all in good humour and they did finally expose the call as a prank call. So, no harm done.

Anyway, I had this silly grin plastered over my face listening to the entire episode and when I happened to look at the rear view mirror, I saw that the driver behind me also had a similar expression on her face. This amused me and I began to look at the other drivers beside me and also found both of them either laughing or smiling. (The cars were all Single Occupant Vehicles) No prizes for guessing which radio station they were tuned into at that moment :D



Random picture of the jam I brave through daily
 Posted by Picasa